Overtime pay in Vermont is governed by many different laws and guidelines. These rules are designed to protect workers and ensure fair wages. Vermont requires employers to pay a minimum wage of $8.46 as well as overtime for every hour of work past a 40-hour work week. In order to be aware of all the rights offered to you as a Vermont worker, it is essential to understand Vermont overtime laws.
Overtime pay in Vermont apply to nearly all employees working on an hourly basis. For every hour you work on top of a 40-hour work week. Vermont state law requires your employer to pay you time and one-half your normal hourly rate. Vermont does not set limits on how many hours of overtime employers can ask employees to work, but they must be adequately compensated. Certain employers are exempt from overtime laws, including those in the agricultural industry and some fixed per-trip rate employers in the transportation industry. Most salaried employees are also exempt from Vermont overtime laws, such as high-salary IT workers. Employers are prohibited from claiming minimum wage employees as salaried workers by paying them a lump sum of the wages they would be paid for 40 hours of work. Salaried employers often work longer hours, but their positions may be less strenuous, and they typically have other benefits that hourly wage employees are not provided. Vermont law protects employees from being forced to work at a low hourly wage without any of the benefits or protections provided by a salary position.
It is important to note that working on Sunday or a federal holiday does not make you eligible for overtime pay in Vermont. Vermont considers these normal workdays, so hours accrued on these days within a 40-hour work week do not qualify for overtime pay. Vermont law also grants total discretion to employers with regard to lunch breaks. While your employer is not required to offer you a lunch break, he or she may not deduce any breaks less than 30 minutes from your wages.
Contact a Lawyer about Overtime Pay in Vermont
If your overtime rights as a Vermont employee have been violated, the Wage & Hour division of the state Department of Labor may provide assistance. This government agency is designed to enforce Vermont overtime pay laws and protect employees. Once your claim has been investigated, your employer may be required to compensate you for underpaid or unpaid wages if a violation is found. Even if the division refuses to take action against your employer, a lawyer may provide assistance. Contact Galanes Law today at (802) 698-8356 for more information on getting the overtime pay in Vermont that you are entitled to.