Our Employment Law Attorney Vermont Explains Employment Law in Vermont
If you have questions about legal matters related to your job, you might want to speak to our employment law attorney Vermont. For example, the minimum wage of $9.15 in the state is higher than the hourly pay for tipped workers, as their tips are expected to cover the difference between their pay rate and the minimum wage. Hourly workers can expect the following raises: in 2016 to $9.60 hourly, in 2017 to $10.00 hourly, and in 2018 to $10.50 hourly.
Tips and Minimum Wage
If the amount an employee earns is not covered by tips to meet the minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference. The minimum wage for tipped employees is $4.58 in the state. A patron can tip on a credit card only if the server works in a tourist location or at a restaurant, motel or hotel.
Overtime for Employees
Eligible workers who work more than 40 hours in a week might be able to earn overtime. However, some jobs do not qualify for overtime, such as volunteers, independent contractors, administrative personnel, executives, some professionals, and seasonal employees. The laws about who is exempt from overtime pay are quite complex. Employers sometimes try to classify a worker as an independent contractor in order to avoid paying him or her benefits or overtime pay. However, the law is clear about what constitutes independent contracting work. If you think you might be entitled to overtime but did not receive it or if you believe you have been unfairly labeled as an independent contractor, you can call the Vermont Department of Labor or our employment law attorney Vermont.
Lunch and Rest Breaks
Vermont employees must be permitted time to eat a snack or meal and have time to use the bathroom while they are working.
Wage and Hour Laws
Wage and hour laws cover general standards for pay, the number of hours worked, breaks, when employees are paid, what the business must pay for, and related matters. The federal government has established national wage and hour laws through the Fair Labor Standards Act. In addition, the state sets wage and hour laws, and even some county and city jurisdictions have established wage and hour laws. If there is a conflict regarding what wage and labor laws the employer must follow, they need to honor the one that most benefits the employee. In Vermont, the minimum wage is $9.15 per hour although the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. Therefore, the employer must pay the higher wage.
Contact Our Vermont Employment Law Attorney
The legal professionals at Galanes Law know that workers do not always understand the technicalities of employment law, which can be admittedly confusing. If you have questions, you might want the help of a seasoned lawyer. You can reach our employment law attorney Vermont at (802) 698-8356 for additional information.